Union Station wins top prize at real estate awards

The Union Station development group was recognized for its work at Thursday's award ceremony.

The Union Station development group was recognized for its work at Thursday’s award ceremony.

Union Station can add another piece of hardware to its development trophy case.

The former train station turned mixed-use LoDo development took home top honors Thursday night at the annual NAIOP Colorado Awards of Achievement Event.

The Union Station Alliance – including Sage Hospitality, Larimer Associates, Urban Neighborhoods Inc. and several other real estate firms – won Development Deal of the Year for the property, headlining a bill of 19 awards handed out by NAIOP at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts.

Other winners included:

Brokerage transaction of the year: Barry Dorfman, JLL, for arranging CoBank’s relocation in the Denver Tech Center

Award of Excellence: Lea Ann Fowler, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP

NAIOP member of the year: Wade Warthen, Darling Milligan Smith Smith and Lesch, PC

NAIOP developing leader member of the year: Ian Nichols, Gart Properties

Office development of the year: IMA office at the North Wing of Union Station and One Union Station

Office broker of the year, individual: Jamie Gard, Newmark Grubb Knight Frank

Office broker of the year, team: Pete Schippits, Andy Ross and Michael Crane, JLL

Capital Markets transaction of the year: CBRE Capital Markets, for the refinancing of Harvest Station

Industrial broker of the year: Jim Bolt, CBRE

Industrial development of the year: United Properties, for the Enterprise Business Center at Stapleton

Legislator of the year: Colorado State Senators Bill Cadman and Jessie Ulibarri

Investment broker of the year: Mike Winn and Tim Ritchie, CBRE

Land broker of the year: Mike Kboudi and Jim Capecelatro, DTZ

Retail broker of the year: Daniel Miller, CBRE

Multifamily broker of the year: Dan Woodward, David Potarf and Matt Barnett, CBRE

Multifamily development of the year: Opus Development Group for Verve at 1490 Delgany St.

President’s Award: Walter A. “Buz” Koelbel Jr., Koelbel and Co.

Trailblazer of the year: Celeste Tanner, Confluent Development Services

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments